What's the latest buzz **UPDATE**: State Senate Bill 15 (Wisconsin Act 64) passed on July 8, 2021. What this means to you: Students aged 15 and over can now receive their temps and be eligible at the age of 16 or older. The student still must hold their temps for a minimum of 6 months and be 16 years of age or older to get the probationary license after successful completion of a drivers ed program.
The new law requires the student to have 50 hours (up from 30 hours) of in-car practice with a parent/guardian 10 of those hours need to be done during the hours of darkness/nighttime.
More information is to come from the WI Department of Transportation of when they will have their systems updated and will be ready to start issuing temporary licenses at the age of 15.
***Students are able to start the online program on or after 14years, 9 months***
The online program is a self paced course that can be taken anytime / anywhere as long as the student has access to the Internet.
It does not matter if the student works on the program early morning, late evening, or even mid-day; they complete it on their schedule.
There is also no need to register for a time period, students work on the program on their time schedule.
Click this link:
Who qualifies for the waiver?
Any person 16 or 17 years of age who:
o Successfully completed an approved Driver Training Education Course; held instruction permit for a minimum of 6 months; successfully completed Behind-the-Wheel; and have parent or guardian sign the waiver to receive the road test waiver
· Who does not qualify?
o Any person 18 years of age or older; any person who has not successfully completed an approved Driver Training Education Course; any person who has not completed Behind-the-Wheel; any person who has previously failed a road test, and any person whose sponsor does not agree to having the road test waived
· How to apply
o Students who meet the requirements should apply online through the road test waiver page wisconsindmv.gov/testwaiver
o Pay the normal fees
o Sponsor (parent or guardian) will acknowledge full responsibility and sign waiver. Parent or guardian agrees to accept responsibility and vouch for the safe driving abilities of the new student
o The parent's or guardian's driver license or ID card number will be entered into the online system and they will receive verification that our records indicate they approved the road test waiver
o DMV will convert license status from Instruction Permit to Probationary License
§ PDF copy of new probationary license card is emailed for immediate use
§ The driver will receive the physical Probationary License card via mail in 7-10 days
§ Driver should print pdf if possible, or present email to Law Enforcement if necessary until physical card arrives
Save time and money register with a package today!
Learn the fundamentals of vehicle operation and the rules of the road in a safe and fun environment. Complete all Wisconsin certified driver education courses online or in a traditional classroom setting. Then take your behind-the-wheel instruction at one of our convenient locations.
At 1st Rate Driving School LLC, you will receive: